Roots Culture Redefined

Header Main

Place Ads

Winners Revealed at UK Americana Awards in London

Feb 1, 2019

Winners Revealed at UK Americana Awards in London

The winners of the fourth annual UK Americana Awards in London were announced on Thursday (January 31), with artists such as Courtney Marie Andrews, Bennett Wilson Poole, Brandi Carlile, Mary Gauthier, Ben Glover, CJ Hillman, and Dean Owens.

Hosted by Bob Harris OBE, the sold-out ceremony welcomed performers like Jade Bird, Curse of Lono, Rhiannon Giddens, Chris Hillman, Seth Lakeman, Graham Nash and YOLA. These show-stopping numbers were backed by a house band led by Ethan Johns. Held at Hackney Empire, the live event concluded three days of AmericanaFest UK 2019.

UK Album of the Year
Shorebound by Ben Glover (produced by Neilson Hubbard and Ben Glover)

International Album of the Year
May Your Kindness Remain by Courtney Marie Andrews (produced by Mark Howard and Courtney Marie Andrews)

UK Song of the Year
“Southern Wind” by Dean Owens (written by Dean Owens and Will Kimbrough)

International Song of the Year
“The Joke” by Brandi Carlile (written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth)

UK Artist of the Year
Bennett Wilson Poole

International Artist of the Year
Mary Gauthier

UK Instrumentalist of the Year
CJ Hillman

Lifetime Achievement Award
Graham Nash

Trailblazer Award
Joe Boyd

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award
Curse of Lono

Grass Roots Award
Immy Doman and Risa Tabatznik of The Green Note

Leave a comment

Suggested Reads

Winners Revealed at UK Americana Awards in London